Speed networking with Heat magazine!

Okay, so when I realised that I was chosen out of a thousand applicants to come along and meet the Heat magazine staff, ask them all these questions and actually receive real life answers, I thought it was a joke. Now, I am perfectly aware that this ‘ I am so shocked I was chosen’ act has been used plenty of times as a ploy to appear humble however I am adamant that this is not the case with me. I honestly expected an immediate no and when that didn’t happen I began quietly mulling over how they’d let me down. I went into overdrive thinking about how they were going to do it; whether it’d be a simple no or a dragged out message implying just why I wasn’t good enough. So, after getting the email telling me i’d been invited, kindly noting just how lucky I was to actually be invited, panic took over my vital organs leaving me unable to function for the next half an hour.

When I had accustomed to the fact that I was attending this event I started to think of all the possibilities, I mean I’ve always wanted to be a journalist and now was the opportunity to get some experience, right?

Although I’m much more of a Cosmo fan, I have read Heat and regardless, an opportunity is an opportunity so feeling anxious but excited, I set off to the Heat headquarters.

One thing that stood out a bit was I was the only hijabi in the room but rather than see that as a negative thing, I took it in my stride and hey, at least that’ll make me memorable, right?

During the event, I was able to meet some of the staff who took us through a typical day in the office. Not only were they incredibly insightful but also brutally honest about the intensity of working on a magazine. This didn’t deter me but instead made me feel even more determined and passionate to pursue a career in the arts.

Following the event, I stayed behind and racked the brains of all the staff, asking tons of questions that ranged from “is it hard coming up with fresh ideas?” to “who’s the hardest person you’ve worked with?” Didn’t really get much out of the latter not that I’d include it if I did.

Well there you have it, my great opportunity with Heat and I haven’t even graduated yet!

Here’s to the future,

L x

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑