Being ‘woke’

Okay, now if you’re not familiar with the term ‘woke’, I’m sure you’re familiar with the concept without realising it.

Let me tell you my thoughts and opinions on this, stressing the fact that these are MY opinions and are not being imposed upon anyone.

Being ‘woke’ is more than just being politically aware, it’s about deciphering between what is real and what has been constructed by the media to appear as the truth.

Throughout my life I’ve always been intrigued about world issues and why things would happen but nevertheless I would wholeheartedly believe how these issues were presented to me by the media.

It was only in my early teenage years that I began to question what I was reading, it dawned on me that several media outlets had similar agendas when it came to publishing news.

There was always a way that certain demographics were presented compared to others and it was not until I came on Twitter a few years later that I realised others shared similar views.

Now I’m not telling you that you must go through life believing everything is a conspiracy but understand that not everything you read is real. Learn, dive deeper than the thresholds of the Daily Mail and Fox News.

Understand the hardships that are happening to the voiceless and alert everyone you can of these issues whether it be through social media or protesting.

Be heard and be clever but more importantly never allow someone to exploit your mind and feed you half truths.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑