Autumn Blues.

The autumn leaves drop gracefully to their death. Sad to watch but soothing all the same. I come here, to this very bench, every autumn to watch them. Some fly, some soar whilst others give up accepting that they are all destined for the same fate…but I watch them nonetheless. Perhaps I hope something will change in this ever complacent world or perhaps I am intrigued by nature’s beauty and consistency. Whatever it may be, i’m engrossed, ready for it to engulf me, fly me to escapism leaving me there forever more.

The last of them lets go, honey gold, it soars for a while. I watch, mesmerised, afraid to blink in case I miss the finale.

It drops silently to its death. Sad to watch but soothing all the same.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑