learning new things about myself

As humans, we learn new things about ourselves everyday. Some things we accept, like the fact I can’t watch TV unless I’m eating a snack or that I fall asleep no matter where I am. But there are some things we learn that are hard to accept. Like the fact that I can be quite impatient or that I hate admitting when something isn’t ok. So I thought I’d write a post about why it’s ok to accept things about ourselves that aren’t so great because accepting them is the first and hardest step. I’ve always considered myself patient because, well, I am. In situations that don’t directly affect me that is. I’m a patient listener and teacher but when it comes to having patience in my own career and personal life, it’s a struggle.

I find it hard to wait for things to happen which i know in some ways can be a strength but it’s good to have sabr in life because if things are meant to happen, they will. I drive myself insane trying to make things happen immediately and I’m finally getting around to letting things happen as they will. I’m great at advising others on how they should solve or combat issues, but damn it’s really hard to take my own advice.

I guess where I’m going with this is, accept your weaknesses, understand them and only then will you be able to change them. If you refuse to believe they exist, it will be harder to combat. If you’re someone who is easily frustrated, ask yourself, what can I do to combat these frustrations? Maybe make a list of things you’d like to do by a certain time and how you plan on getting them done to avoid being frustrated if something goes wrong. Perhaps you could even take a breather and try to calm down before coming back to fix the problem.

But the important thing is, understand that your weaknesses do not make you weak. Your imperfections do not mean you are imperfect. None of these things define us. But if you are resilient and powerful enough to accept them and work on them, then you’ve already won.

Until next time,

L x

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑