5 personal goals BEFORE the summer hits!

Setting goals in life is definitely a great idea and something of a constant for me which is why it’s no shock that I’ve got some lined up before the summer! So without further ado, here are my pre-summer goals.

1. Improve my physical health

Image result for eating healthy gif

After spending 23 years of my life eating like a pig and thankfully not gaining as much weight as I probably should’ve, I’ve finally reached a point in my life where I think it’s time to take my physical health seriously.

By physical health, I don’t mean just working out but also eating healthily and making sure the food I put in my system is organic and not processed.

I had the most amazing meal last night which ended in the biggest food coma. Ever. So I guess that was a great way to finish my poor eating habit days. Here’s to a healthier, better, me.

2. Working on self-love and appreciation

Image result for self love gif

Something I’ve struggled with is self-love and also appreciating who I am. Although I am very proud of myself and I am aware of my strengths, I go through bouts of self-doubt and find it incredibly hard to love some of my imperfections. Although this will be a goal that needs consistent nurturing and reaffirming, I definitely want to be in a better head space, in regards to how I view myself, before the summer hits.

3. Deeper connection with my faith

My faith is a huge part of my life and something I take incredibly seriously. With Ramadan coming up, I really want to mentally prepare myself for the blessed month beforehand by connecting deeper with my faith.

One way I aim to do this is by reading the Quran more and listening to and attending more Islamic lectures. When I am connected to my faith at a high level, it affects everything around me, from the way I see myself to my mood. I love it and I cannot wait for that feeling again!

4. Write for more publications.

Image result for writing gif

Before I left to teach in Saudi, I was interning at Cosmopolitan and I definitely want to write for more publications.

Although I’m teaching, that is not my passion or what I want to do for the rest of my life. I’m teaching because it gives me the opportunity to travel overseas and still be able to support myself financially. I haven’t stopped blogging since I’ve arrived in Saudi and it makes me want to write more.

My degree at university was journalism & creative writing and I intend on putting it to good use when I’m back in London. This summer will be my summer.

5. Save money

Image result for saving money gif

I’m pretty sure this is one that’s on everybody’s list. Saving money is another reason why I took a teaching job abroad and I plan on doing it some more over the next two months so that I can enjoy my summer some more.

In order to make the most of the internship opportunities, I need to have enough money to be able to take on job/internship/work experience opportunities that don’t pay a lot.

Also, can we just talk about unpaid internships? Ew. It’s 2018, can these companies get with the programme.

Oh and before anyone thinks this is a diss at Cosmo, that is not the case. I was paid guys!

Well there you have it, my 5 pre-summer goals. What are yours? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time,

L x

2 thoughts on “5 personal goals BEFORE the summer hits!

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑